Birthday Cake Planning – Writing 101, Day 15

Day 15 is all about taking a cue from our readers. I did a poll earlier on in the course and the majority of respondents chose that I should design and make hubby’s birthday cake. So I shall ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hubby’s birthday is in just over 3 weeks. Sounds plenty of time? Nope! I have Maxi Mister’s homework to help him with (they have to create and make a new game), extra sessions at work on a Saturday, sewing to get done (majorly behind there), and homework marking done for my students. It is going to be a busy time again!

Step 1: Ask him what he wants

Step 2: Ask for for more information than “I don’t mind”

Step 3: Get fed up waiting for a more specific answer and look at ideas from previous years

Step 4: Check whether it is going into work with him

Step 5: Ask again what he would prefer, especially flavour-wise

Step 6: Give up and choose my own ideas!

Here are some I have done in the past for him (interestingly they are all cupcakes!):

Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes

Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes with chocolate flavour Guinness glass toppers

DSC_1455

 

3 thoughts on “Birthday Cake Planning – Writing 101, Day 15

  1. This post made me hungry and crave cupcakes! And your husband sounds like my son. If I ask my son what he wants to eat, he says “anything”. I think it would be nice for him to be more specific sometimes, but I guess I shouldn’t complain because feeding him is easy! lol

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the Bloggerโ€™s Recognition Award. Please refer back my post at https://writefulmind.wordpress.com/2015/10/09/blogger-recognition-award/ for rules of acceptance.

    Congratulations! Iโ€™m looking forward to reading your post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

