Writing 101 – Day 11: Writing and not writing

Write every day, but don’t put your life on hold . . .

— Vincent Mars, “Writing as a Way of Life

What do you do when you’re not writing? How do you reset and return to this dashboard, refreshed? What do you need in your day-to-day life to maintain balance: Running? Yoga? Gardening? Painting? Cooking? – From Writing 101, Day 11 Task

So, what do I do when I am not writing?

If you take a look at my pages or posts, they will give you a good idea. I *think* I am quite a creative person. I certainly aspire to be.

My current occupations other than writing obviously include being a Mama and doing my job as a teacher, being a wife and trying to be a good friend.

But other things I am doing at the moment? Well quite a few in a short space of time. I started a Lightning Quick Make last week, only it turned out to not be lightning quick as I haven’t had time to finish it (although total time spent doing it will be not much):

Cotton, rotary cutter, template, self-healing mat, quilting ruler

Ready to cut. I even have a template ready.

Tote bag, quilting ruler, rotary cutter

3 bags ready to sew

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am also planning and organising Mini Mister’s Christening and 1st birthday party. This includes making his cakes. I am doing a Christmas cake for his Christening cake, as I decided that it would keep better if we didn’t get round to eating it immediately. And I am doing a carved Madeira for his birthday cake. I will post pictures as I do the decorations for that one during the week but you will have to wait until Sunday to see it completely.

I wrote a list last night of all the things I need to do for the 2 cakes. There is quite a lot, but I have already started by baking and marzipanning the Christening cake. Tonight’s job is to colour up the sugarpaste and flower paste I need for both cakes. If I have the time and inclination, I may even begin the models for the Christening cake…

Rich fruit cake

Pre-cooking

Rich fruit cake

Post-cooking

marzipan, rich fruit cake

Marzipanned cake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other than the cakes, most of the other stuff for the party is sorted or under way. I have a couple of deliveries to arrive, and a few bits for party bags to buy, but we are actually organised for once! I hope it stays like that.

 

Actually, this post gives me the opportunity to complete an extra Writing 101 task. Last week we were asked to produce a poll or create a contact form to gather ideas. I have decided to go with a poll, so here it is! What creative thing or skill would you like to see me tackle next? I will pop this in the sidebar tomorrow as well.

5 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 11: Writing and not writing

Leave a Reply

