Writing 101 – Days 6 and 7: ‘The Space to Write’ and ‘Hook ’em with a Quote’

“Creativity is knowing how to hide your sources” 
― C.E.M. Joad

This is an interesting page regarding the source and development of this ‘quote’.

I realise that putting 2 days’ worth of tasks together is kind of defeating the object of a course to get you into the habit of writing every day, but there you go!

I like this quote. I haven’t seen it before, but it is perfect for creative people in today’s internet-centric world. Not that I am saying that people didn’t find alternate sources for ideas, inspiration and ‘how to’ before we all got so addicted to our computers and smart phones, but I do think in the worlds I tend to inhabit it has taken off in a huge way (to steal a cliché).

Does every creative person hide their sources? Do they all admit all of them? Probably not. After all, could you write down a list of absolutely everything that could have inspired you to create something? Sometimes you can, but many, many more times, you can’t. You do have to be very careful not to infringe copyright, or perhaps more importantly, not massively annoy the originator of the idea. Especially if you want to develop your own business selling the results of your creativity.

I try to attribute credit where I can. It means I can give you lots of lovely links. I apologise profusely if I have ever missed anyone out though. I didn’t mean to be rude!

But I still like the quote. It is tongue-in-cheek, and therefore suits me.

As for yesterday’s task, I write wherever. Usually on my Nexus, sometimes on the laptop. Almost always sitting on the sofa, occasionally in bed or sitting at the table. Definitely somewhere comfortable.

If I could have anywhere, it would a big, squashy sofa, with loads of lovely homemade cushions, in my own craft room. There would be somewhere for my sewing machine and all the bits I use, the drawers of fabric and the planning books for both my sewing and my caking.

In fact, I think I am off to Pinterest to look up ideas and inspirations and more ‘how to’s. 😊

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Days 6 and 7: ‘The Space to Write’ and ‘Hook ’em with a Quote’

  1. I am three and one half days into a new home, and when we got this assignment I realized I just did not feel comfortable in my new writing space….I’ve been on a tear ever since to locate the ‘right’ place in my new space to write. I need your idea of ” a big, squashy sofa, with loads of lovely homemade cushions, in my own craft room. There would be somewhere for my sewing machine and all the bits I use, the drawers of fabric and the planning books for both my sewing and my WRITING” My daughter is the baker of cakes! Thanks for giving me a glimpse of what I want.

    Like

Leave a Reply

