In Due Time…

I am currently following a course called Blogging 101, run by Word Press to help new bloggers develop their skills and knowledge of blogging. There have been tasks each week day, and yesterday we were asked to use the Daily Prompt to inspire a post. As we were allowed to choose a random prompt, I clicked through a few and then this one popped up:

In Due Time: What’s your next, most pressing deadline? Are you excited, stressed, or ambivalent about it? What’s the first thing you’d like to do once you’re done with it?

I think it fits quite well for me, given the length of my project list and the fact that I am running out of time to complete some of those projects. In actual fact, my most pressing deadline hasn’t been a project but rather the impending date of my return to work after maternity leave

I have been incredibly lucky that I have had an extended time with Mini Mister, although I have got to the point that I no longer even have SMP. So the return to work is a blessing in disguise, since having no income means that not only can I not buy all the things I need for the boys, there is no way I can get away with indulging in my fabric or sugarcraft tool addictions. And there are some lovely fabrics coming out a the moment in preparation for (and I will say this quietly) Christmas. And I still haven’t had a chance to try out sugar lace, despite how long it has been on trend.

So, I am excited about the prospect of having an income again, but stressed about organising childcare for Maxi Mister and worrying about whether Mini Mister will settle in to nursery ok. I think I am going to have to restrain myself from spending the not very much money I will get this month, but if anyone else is after places to feed their addictions, have a look at some of the places on my Blogroll. There are more to add, but these are some of the places I tend to visit on a far too regular basis! Please don’t ask me which is my favourite, as I don’t think I could pick one. I go to different sites for different things.

As for ‘making’ deadlines, there are a few, as I said. I have some chair cushions to complete before we go on holiday in a couple of weeks (I think they will be a future post, so I won’t say anything more here), I have Mum’s hexie flowers to finish before then as well, so that I don’t lug her stuff around on holiday with me. And I have 2 celebration cakes to plan/design and make, but they aren’t needed until the end of September, thank goodness. Pinterest is definitely my friend for planning in this case.

I have just realised that I have completely failed to include any pictures in this post so far, so here are 2 for you. The first is my Mum and Dad. Mum is probably my biggest creative influence, and I wish she could see all the things I make (even the failures!). The other shows the fabric I am going to use for the chair cushions – Giraffe Crossing by Riley Blake – and this is a cot pocket I made for Mini Mister with it.

Dad and Mum about 15 years ago

Dad and Mum about 15 years ago

DSC_1405

Time to retire now, as I have a very early start tomorrow. For the first time in about 10 and a half months I have to set my alarm. Wish me luck!

Bye for now 😀

Leave a Reply

