The hexie addiction begins…

So, a few months ago, an online friend started making mini hexies (hexies = patchwork hexagons). I thought that they looked pretty, but that was about it until I saw the start of her quilt top begin to take shape. Oh wow! So, so pretty! I thought about using some of my scraps of fabric to make some, but it got pushed down the ever-expanding project list, and I forgot about it for a while.

I decided that I needed a project for the summer. Last year it was knitting a blanket for Mini Mister, and I have knitted in previous years too. A new challenge was needed, mainly because I don’t want to do any more knitting for a while (too much garter stitch sends your eyes funny!). I remembered the gorgeous hexie quilt top and that made my mind up. Trawling the net for ideas, and ways to finish Mum’s hexie quilt which I have inherited, I came across some lovely versions of a pattern called Grandmother’s Knot Garden. I am still undecided as to exactly what my version will look like, but that is what I am aiming for.

Something else I came across was a rather cute little hexie travel kit on a lovely blog called The Zen of Making. Haley, who writes the blog, has created some excellent tutorials on the art of English Paper Piecing (EPP), the basics of hexie quilts, as well as the tutorial for the travel kit. She was also extremely helpful when I had a question about fixings, which gave me the confidence to have a go.

My kit is not as polished as hers, but it was very good practice for all the handsewing I need to do for a hexie quilt. Finishing basting my first hexies was stupidly exciting, even more so when I whip-stitched them into 2 little flowers. May be I am just weird to get excited over them, though!

Anyway, here is the first hexie flower prior to sewing and my finished kit (please excuse the appalling photos):

DSC_2294

.      DSC_2338.  IMG_20150718_215009

I have followed Haley’s suggestions for little Altoid tins to keep the tools in, but thought about creating a mini thread-catcher, since I don’t want to lug around the one I made for my sewing machine (pictures of that and links to originating blog will be on another sewing page as soon as I can write it). Google threw up hundreds of hits, but most led back to a couple of original ideas. In the end, I went with a variation on one by Red Hen Fabrics from their Quick Projects page. The only thing I bought was the inner hoop from an embroidery hoop for the top, although several other makers suggested using Pringles tubes or something similar. Everything else was scraps, including the cardboard. My variation was to pad both sides of the base as I thought it would help the sides stand up better. Collapsed, it fits neatly in my kit.

thread catcher mini

The final make was another with scraps, and again the result of a trawl of the internet. Having 2 small children around, the thought of having scissors loose in the kit worried me (and yes, I won’t be leaving it lying around for them to pick up, but they do both seem to find things they are not supposed to. The joy of inquisitive kids!), so making a closable cover for my small sewing scissors and my embroidery scissors was a must. There are some beautiful cases out there, including some you can fit all sorts if things into as well as your scissors. However, since I had already made the kit, I just wanted a simple cover. I found the perfect one on a blog called Cotton Cellar. It only uses 2 squares of fabric, and you only sew 2 seams (plus hand-sewing a closure). I made 2 in less than an hour, sizing the measurements up slightly for the larger pair of scissors. I love them! What do you think, especially as all 3 things use different colours of the same Michael Miller fabric for the outsides?

scissor pockets

I am all prepped for the summer now. I wonder how many hexies I will manage to make. I will keep you up-to-date on here. See you soon! 😀

6 thoughts on “The hexie addiction begins…

    • I think I have decided to just make a load and then make a final choice on pattern etc. I like all the pictures people keep posting of boxes of colour-organised basted hexies. Now that really is sad! 😄

      Like

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Although I saw some hussif tutorials online, none of them had exactly what I wanted, so I designed my own. Your hexie kit is so cute. I love mine…I just took it on a one-hour car ride today to baste some hexies in the car! What an inspired idea to make a mini thread-catcher to include in the kit. Your scissors covers are cute, and look easy to make, as well.

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Bit of Baking After A Break | Pickle Pie Mama

Leave a Reply

